Littera Scripta

Email Lists For Booklovers

I'm kind of a mailing list junkie. On the off-chance that anyone else shares my little vice, here are something over 270 mailing lists for readers and collectors. If you know of any lists that I've missed, please let me know.  

Please keep in mind that there are strict netiquette rules for email lists, just as there are in the newsgroups. Make sure that you read the instructions for subscribing and unsubscribing from these lists beforesigning up!



    Science Fiction & Fantasy

  • Swbooks - books having to do with Star Wars, and that take place in the Star Wars universe.
  • Sistersofthenight - Paranormal books, or Alternate reality fiction.
  • FSF Discussion of Fantasy and Science Fiction.
  • Scifireaders For discussion and recommendations of science fiction and fantasy books and movies.
  • Sffbooks - science-fiction and fantasy books
  • sflovers - Science Fiction.
  • sf-lit - Science Fiction as literature.
  • Swordspoint - This is a list to discuss the writing of Elizabeth Willey, Ellen Kushner, Delia Sherman, and other similer writers.
  • fantasy Anything in the fantasy genre: movies, comics, anime, novels, tv series, etc. But primarily books.
  • iafa-l - Scholarly discussion of Fantastic Literature.
  • Pern - Pern
  • Greystar_tower - Darkover
  • cficcion - Science fiction and fantasy discussion in Spanish.
  • Lankhmar - Fritz Leiber's Lankhmar, and the adventures of Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser.
  • Heavencent - Fans of Xanth and Piers Anthony.
  • uk-sf - Science Fiction & Fantasy produced from the United Kingdom.
  • tolkien - Discussion about J.R.R. Tolkien in Czech and Slovak languages.

    Mystery

  • Walpole - Gothic bibliography, Gothic novel scholarship, and the illustrations of the shilling shockers or short Gothics of the late eighteenth century. Also to scholarly material about Poe, Ambrose Bierce, Mary Shelley, H.P. Lovecraft and Stephen King
  • Crimebooks - true crime and crime fiction, and related topics such as criminology, forensic science, psychology, serial crime, criminal profiling, policing, crime in tv and film, murder mystery, psychological thriller and suspense writing and authors.
  • Mystery Reviews of mysteries. To subscribe, send a message to [email protected] with subscribe mystery in the body of the message.
  • Shortmystery-L For readers and writers of short mystery fiction. To subscribe, send a message to [email protected] with subscribe shortmystery-l-digest in the body of the message.
  • Mysterybooks - A way for lovers of mystery fiction (and even non-fiction) to discuss different books and authors. This list should cover the whole mystery range, including mystery spy and police works as well as traditional detective stories.
  • RARA-AVIS - Hard-boiled mysteries.
  • Hard-Boiled- Hard-boiled mysteries. Send a message to [email protected] with subscribe hard-boiled in the body of the message.
  • dorothyl -Mystery. Named after Dorothy L. Sayers, but not limited to her works.
  • hounds-l - Sherlock Holmes.

    Romance

  • RomEx - The Romance & Women's Fiction Exchange.
  • Romance Readers Anonymous - For romance readers, but you'll find quite a few published writers on this list too.
  • Romance Novel Forum- open forum for romance readers and writers. Send a message to: [email protected] with subscribe <yourname> in the body of the message.
  • rwrg -For writers and readers of short and book-length romance fiction
  • Romance! Books & Writing- To subscribe, send a message to: [email protected] with subscribe in the body of the message.

    Horror

  • Sistersofthenight - Paranormal books, or Alternate reality fiction.
  • HorrorHaven
  • Grimoire - horror in literature
  • Frighteners - horror
  • horror - Horror. Includes discussions of both books and movies.
  • Walpole - Gothic bibliography, Gothic novel scholarship, and the illustrations of the shilling shockers or short Gothics of the late eighteenth century. Also to scholarly material about Poe, Ambrose Bierce, Mary Shelley, H.P. Lovecraft and Stephen King

    Juvenile

  • childlit - Children's Literature: Criticism and Theory.
  • kidlit-l - Children and Youth Literature List.
  • Zone Enchanted Place - Winnie-the-Pooh and other A.A. Milne characters.
  • freddy-the-pig - Send a message with subscribe freddy-the-pig in the message body.
  • Bscla - The BabySitters Club
  • Ozian Times - Wizard of Oz.
  • Fearstreet - Fear Street books by R.L. Stine
  • GirlsOwn- School Girl series and stories. Some authors in this genre include E. M. Brent-Dyer, D. F. Bruce, E. J. Oxenham and Enid Blyton among others. To subscribe, send a message to: [email protected] with subscribe girlsown in the body of the message.
  • girlsworld - children's books, especially boarding school books and girls' series books from the early to mid-1900s

    Miscellany

  • Erotica - A mailing list for those interested in literary and artistic erotica, from the love poems of Sappho to the classics of Victorian England to The Story of O. This is a discussion group for the naughty & nice!
  • Cookbook-l- Cook book discussion list. Send a message to: [email protected] with subscribe in the body of the message.
  • Autobiography Autobiographical adventure. Ranulph Fiennes on foot to the South Pole. Knud Rasmussen's dogsled voyage from Greenland to the Pacific, in the 1920s. The shipwrecked conquistador who was initiated into shamanism. The Sandinista student leader. Lawrence of Arabia chipping away at the Ottoman Empire. Various SAS members.
  • Biography A open forum for anyone who reads, researches, writes, edits and/or publishes biographies.
  • Aviationhistoryrevue - Forum for the exchange of information on in or out of print books on the history of aviation 1890 to date.
  • spenser-l - English Renaissance literature.
  • Modesty Blaise
  • Nero Wolfe - About Rex Stout's Nero Wolfe books. Coldfire C. S. Friedman - Coldfire

 

 

 



Web Links

The BookWire Mailing List Index

The BookWire Author-Specific Mailing List Index

Liszt mailing list directory
You can search Liszt directly by entering keywords below...


Home
Bibliomania
Book Buying
Bookselling
Reference Works
Geeky Stuff







 

 

 

 

Copyright © 2000 by Deanna Ramsay